Blaenavon – Prague

20130804-211231.jpg

I posted a little while ago about Blaenavon being one of my favourite new bands, so when I saw this gem waiting in my Soundcloud feed I nearly cried out with excitement. I’d seen a live clip of this song but under a different name so it was a pleasant surprise to hear this recorded properly. Prague shows the ridiculously young trio progressing with a more mature, accomplished sound to their previous EP, a song that will definitely start turning critics’ heads. The dynamics are the standout feature of this track, the change between the huge, trashy guitars and cymbals to the stripped back choruses with fragile, hushed vocals. It’s taken from their upcoming second EP KOSO, released through Transgressive offshoot ParadYse Records on vinyl and which I can’t wait to get my hands on.

Got something to say?

