Plastic Mermaids – Polaroids

plastic mermaids

I will admit I was a little wary when I first clicked play on this song. Generally for me, guitar > electronics. That’s not to say I don’t like the use of some keyboard here and there – hell, the keys on Ayla by The Maccabees are genius – but I tend to find myself avoiding songs with an abundance of electronica and synths.

Polaroids is a song that makes me turn my view of that kind of music on its head. It’s subtle yet simultaneously huge; rousing and powerful and utterly brilliant. The lyrics read like they were taken from an angst-ridden teenage diary, and the vocals are a mournful croon that seems oblivious to fact that anyone’s actually listening. The second build-up in the middle of the song rises with a crescendo worthy of a film script. For a debut song, it’s a mightily impressive effort.

Got something to say?

